Bialys in Mebourne

In October, D and I visited Mebourne, Australia for a family wedding.  While downtown one morning, we wandered into Five and Dime Bagels.  I noticed that the menu had bialys, something I’ve not otherwise seen outside New York.  It turns out that the owner, Zev Forman, grew up about 15 minutes from D, and had friends who attended her high school at the time she was there.  Sadly, he says that bialys don’t sell well (because no one knows what they are) and he makes them primarily for his own amusement; as a result, they hadn’t baked any that morning when I arrived.  Next time I’m in AU….

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bialys in Mebourne

  1. Zev Forman says:

    They are selling better now! When are you coming back to oz to try one?

  2. JBL says:

    Aha, wonderful, I’m glad you found this — I had been thinking of sending you an e-mail through your website, but the idea got lost in the end-of-semester rush. Did you also see the next post? Apparently Melbourne has a history with bialys. (And Sheraton would approve that yours have poppy seeds.) I have become very slightly obsessed with this topic, in case it’s not obvious; I managed to work a mention into my calculus class this semester, so there are now 100+ midwestern teenagers who know what a bialy is.

    I am glad to hear that they are selling better. We do not have any plans to return right now (I’m sure I don’t have to tell you just how long the flight feels; and for the time being D has run out of cousins who are yet to be married) but rest assured that trying your bialys is on my to-do list the next time I’m anywhere nearby!

Leave a Reply

