Spring break in Minnesota

On Monday, it was 29 degrees Fahrenheit out when I left for work in the morning; perhaps two inches of snow had fallen the night before.  It got steadily colder all day.  Tuesday night, the low was 1 degree.  I told my students last semester that February was the worst month of winter.  It turns out that this was my mistake; I’ve just never before lived in a place where March wasn’t the end of winter.  Here are some photos from the fall and winter.

I take the same picture out my window over and over again.  This is the sun rising over St. Paul.

I take the same picture out my window over and over again. This is the sun rising over St. Paul. 10/16/2012.

Safety tips at UMN

Safety tips at UMN

This bike seems to live at the local Target.

This bike seems to live at the local Target.

DSCF5072 DSCF5077 DSCF5079 American Indian parade

Rhymes with "rascal".

Rhymes with “rascal”.

macaroni and cheese

Not mine, luckily.  I particularly liked the icicles on the handlebars, but I didn't get a good picture of them.  12/12/12.

Not mine, luckily. I particularly liked the icicles on the handlebars and brake cables, but I didn’t get a good picture of them. 12/12/12.

This is what happens in my apartment when the weather stays in the single digits.  1/22/13.

This is what happens in my apartment when the weather stays in the single digits. 1/22/13.

living room

D's lab is visible behind and immediately to the right of the stadium

D’s lab is visible behind and immediately to the right of the stadium

Lillies are astounding.

Lillies are astounding.

Dennis Stanton maintains this list of mathematical personality types.  Everyone is invited to self-categorize.

Dennis Stanton maintains this list of mathematical personality types. Everyone is invited to self-categorize.

Unicycle in snow

This beautiful Ginko lives just behind the math department.  10/26/2012.

This beautiful Ginkgo lives just behind the math department. 10/26/2012.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Miscellany, Trees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

