Creamy corn chowder

Usually I like to follow a recipe from a source that I trust, but this one I sort of made up, inspired by something from Mark Bittman.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb frozen corn
  • 4 medium potatoes
  • 1 carrot
  • 2 medium onions
  • salt and red pepper
  • 6 cups water
  • cheddar cheese

I chopped the onion, carrot and potatoes (I may have added a bit of garlic, as well) and sauteed them in butter over medium-high heat for 5-10 minutes, until everything had started to soften a bit.  Then I added the water, got it up to a boil, and brought it down to a simmer.  After 2-3 minutes, I added the corn, then cooked for another 7-10 minutes, until the potato was about the right texture.  My brother had given me an immersion blender, which worked very nicely to blend everything to a fairly smooth texture.  Salt and pepper to taste.  I also grated in some cheddar cheese, but not enough so that the flavor came through.  We ate it with bread and some more cheddar, and D garnished it with fresh basil leaves (which were a nice other taste to have in the mix).

This made enough for 4 large bowlfuls, two dinners-worth for me and D.  Unfortunately the second day the texture was not quite as nice — perhaps I should have added more water.

This entry was posted in Dinner. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

